It has been quite awhile since I have written a blog post. Unfortunately I’m not the sort who as a yen on a regular basis to put down on paper what I’m thinking. I actually prefer giving talks. In fact I’m on my way to Buffalo (flight delayed of course…) to give a Lightroom lecture and the Keynote addresss for the NFRCC (Northern Frontier Regional Camera Clubs) Annual convention.

I love giving talks. Certainly I have a prepared idea for the presentation and I have given enough talks that I have a general idea about what I’m going to say. But.. there is a spontaneity because I don’t use notes. I sometimes silently surprise myself, noting in my mind “Hmmm, that’s good … I’ve never said that before.” I like the trueness of the moment during a talk.

Writing is a different beast; a different kind of precision. And it requires sitting down. I actually think better when I’m moving around. “So use a microphone”, you are thinking. Well, it is not just what you say, it is how you say it. Inflections, pauses, body gestures all play a part in a talk. Writing, darn one has to be good, to put all of that into words.

Nevertheless I will continue to write in this blog. Promises, promises…